Eu Association Agreement With Georgia

The agreement provides visa exemption for EU citizens and citizens for a 90-day stay over a 180-day period. It amends Regulation (EC) 539/2001, which lists third countries whose nationals are subject to visa requirements to cross external borders, as well as those whose nationals are exempt from this obligation. On 27 February 2017, the Council adopted a regulation on visa liberalisation for Georgians travelling to the EU for a 90-day stay over a period of 180 days. Ireland and the United Kingdom are exempt from the application of these provisions in accordance with the protocols attached to the EU treaties. The regulation came into effect on March 28, 2017. Significant progress has also been made in consolidating Georgian parliamentary democracy following the constitutional reform and agreement of the main political parties on 8 March 2020 on the electoral system for the 2020 parliamentary elections, after a long period of internal political turmoil. The situation of justice remains a concern, as the procedures for selecting judges have not been completed, and a series of proceedings against the opposition have raised concerns about the impartiality of the judicial system. Georgia is invited to implement the recommendations of its international partners such as the Venice Commission and the OSCE/BDIDH,” the rapporteurs said. The EU remains Georgia`s unwavering support for ensuring respect for its sovereignty and territorial integrity within its internationally recognised borders and the fundamental rights of its people,” the report says. The report states that the European Parliament will continue to work “closely” with the Georgian Parliament as a direct partner and important player in the implementation of the AA and the DCFTA, through regular inter-parliamentary dialogue and joint institutional support measures.

The European Union and Georgia have a very close and positive relationship. The ASSOCIATION agreement BETWEEN the EU and Georgia came into force in July 2016 and aims at political association and economic integration between the EU and Georgia. The EU and Georgia have also concluded a comprehensive and comprehensive Free Trade Area (ACFTA), while Georgian citizens have benefited from visa-free travel in the Schengen area since 28 March 2017. The EU is Georgia`s main trading partner and provides more than EUR 100 million in technical and financial assistance to Georgia each year. In addition, the EU has a number of educational and mobility opportunities open to Georgians.